Beauty, Life, Pin-spiration, Trending

January’s Beauty Haul

IMG_1715

I’ve always been interested in makeup since I was in high school, but I never had really gotten to the point of wanting to explore various brands and techniques until I met my college roommate Claire. Now, I will more than likely never be as passionate about makeup as some, but I am really starting to appreciate the look of a product and seeing how it can help boost a person’s mood that day.

I won’t ever be one to tell someone they have to wear makeup to look and feel good because to each their own. However, sometimes a swipe of mascara or lipstick or freshly painted nails can really do the trick in boosting those endorphins (sorry exercise, you’re not the only one to do that).

And with that, I will be making beauty posts more frequently that include my most recent purchases along with beauty fads I love currently.

Happy FriYay!

-C

 

  1. (Elizabeth and James Nirvana Black Perfume, $60 for 1 oz. at Sephora)  Back in November, I got a free sample of this perfume at Sephora to see how it would smell on me not just on the store but outside of it as well. I ended up having to use it so sparingly towards the end as I just loved the sweet yet musky smell so much. With notes of Vanilla, Violet, and Sandalwood, this scent has become my go to for the cooler months and nights out.
  2. (Laura Mercier Eye Art Artist’s Palette, $55 at Sephora) I have always been a fan of taupe and purple colored eyeshadows. They work wonderfully with my hazel eyes as the shades bring out the flecks of gold or even make the green in them pop more so. With this palette, I love how easy it is to blend the shadows. There’s also a great selection of matte shadows in the palette as well as shimmery shadows, which can sometimes be hard to find.
  3. (Formula X #ColorCurators: Song of Style Edition Nail Polish in A Girl’s Best Friend, $12.50 at Sephora) I love how easy Formula X’s nail polishes go on and how long they last. Put on two coats and you’re good for a week at least. The colors for this particular collaboration are also extremely wearable and I especially love A Girl’s Best Friend. The blush shade can work with your F/W outfits as well as your S/S ones.
  4. (Marc Jacobs Beauty Velvet Noir Major Volume Mascara, $26 at Sephora) When it comes to mascara, I generally stick to one and never really branch out. For years I’ve been using Benefit’s They’re Real! Lengthening & Voluminizing Mascara. As much as I loved it, I would still have clumping issues so I then switched to Clinique’s High Impact Mascara where I still would get lashes clumping. Recently, though, I got this Marc Jacobs mascara as an awards freebie from Sephora and instantly loved it after the first use. It defines my lashes so well and truly lengthens them, which other mascaras have never been able to do. I also have had no clumping issues after having used it for a week or so–yay!
5 thoughts on “January’s Beauty Haul”

Leave a Reply

