Life

A little bit of Texas is coming soon!

As gas prices keep on rising, the price for me to travel back home to Houston gets more and more expensive. So for Spring Break instead of me flying down to Texas my momma is flying up to Oregon. My momma has already been on the internet checking out things to do in Central Oregon. Seems like the only night I have between the end of my finals next week and her arrival will be reserved for sleep to get ready.

A pretty big detail about her trip up here has to deal with where we are staying, a cute home up on a hill behind where my apartment and college are. I will definitely take some pictures of the house for y’all because from what i’ve seen on the internet it is precious (and renovated!). Also, to those who love the idea of renting a house or a condo versus staying in a hotel, check out vrbo.com (Vacation Rental By Owner). For years now my momma has been using this site and every place we have stayed at through it has been amazing.

Now, quite honestly, I am ecstatic to see my momma. Admittedly, I have been getting a little homesick throughout this term and knowing I won’t be able to go back to Texas until June kinda bums me out. It’s going to be so nice to show her my walking paths, the parks near the rivers, some restaurants I have come upon and to explore some nearby wineries with her. Yes, throughout this I will try and take as many pictures as I can with this new little Instagram iPhone App I just downloaded (if you have an iPhone, download it!)

This next week leading up to my momma’s arrival is definitely going to be a stressful one; however, it won’t be too stressful considering i’ll be following the tips listed in my previous post. Below I leave you with a little bit of Texas aka images of some of my favorite places back home.

Saltgrass Steakhouse (Wagon Boss Top Sirloin with a sweet potato, please?)

Texas State Capitol Building in Austin (where you can find a picture of my great-grandfather inside!)

The Galleria in Houston (where you go if you’re prepared to part with a-lot of your money)

Dozier’s Meat Market and Grocery in Fulshear, TX (our families have known one another for decades now)

The eclectic Montrose neighborhood in Houston (great place to find vintage and artsy pieces)

Texas Hill Country (during Spring, when the Indian Paintbrushes and Blue Bonnets bloom)

Blue Bell Creameries in Brenham, TX (where I wanted to work as a little girl, thinking i’d get free ice cream)

Have a great weekend y’all!! (: 

(photos: 1-prepaidcenter.com; 2-topix.com; 3-myhellofalife.com; 4-jacktylerdines.blogspot.com; 5-texaswatchdog.org; 6-bluebell.com)  

Leave a Reply

