Life

It’s sometimes not “just hair”….

With short hair you begin to crave pearl necklaces, long earrings, and a variety of sunglasses. And you brush your teeth more often. Short hair removes obvious femininity and replaces it with style. When it starts growing out a little and losing its style, you have to wear sunglasses until you can get it to the hairdresser. That’s why you need a variety. short hair makes you aware of subtraction as style. You can no longer wear puffed sleeves or ruffles; the neat is suddenly preferable to the fussy. You eye the tweezers instead of the blusher. What else can you take away? You can’t hide behind short hair… you may look a little androgynous, a little unfinished, a little bare… but your face is no longer a flat screen surrounded by a curtain: the world sees you in three dimensions.” -Joan Juliet Buck

 

Having just a few inches of hair on my head, you can definitely say I stand out in a sea of young women my age. Then again, even if my hair was not as short as it is (though I could go shorter…and have thought about it) I still stand out being a brunette. For so many women, blonde still is recognized as the “it” color. Just like long, flouncy hair is the “it” cut. I know a-lot of women and girls who have dyed their hair or put in extensions because of following the trends. Let me tell you, they looked so much better before!

Oh and guys say they don’t understand the female obsession with looks, especially with hair, even though they also promote the idea of what is “it”. Many guys go for a long haired woman than one with short hair. As Joan Juliet Buck noted the look of short hair is perceived as “androgynous” and for some reason many have come to the conclusion that women who have short hair are also homosexual (this is so NOT true men and women). So every time I go back home and head into Houston for my haircut, I am always surrounded by women saying “Oh no, just a trim” as they sift through the latest magazine. That is the one thing that is true, society prefers a woman with long hair versus one with short hair. How many times have you seen a woman with cropped hair be on the cover of a magazine? Not very often. And those that do appear on the cover are because of the hair or the “change” they did or the label that the short hair has given them (ex: Rooney Mara now as a badass because of her Lisbeth ‘do).

Women with short hair should be looked at in a similar light to those who have longer hair: that they are beautiful. That just because of their hair does not mean that they cannot be perceived as sexy or pretty or graceful. There should be no standard label of a short-haired woman as a “badass” or “tough”. On the contrast, in my experience with having short hair (for the past two years now) I have become more feminine in my appearance. Granted, on many days when I am not in the mood to even get out of my apartment I resort to my skinny jeans and motorcycle jacket–it’s comfy!

However, I have come to love how with short hair more of the emphasis has been on my NATURAL beauty such as my high cheek bones or my eyes that act as my very own mood rings or my cute nose. People now are not just looking at my hair but are looking at ME and it is such a wonderful feeling. And yes, I have also had to deal with the stereotypes associated (again, lady at Home Goods, those plates were for my friends mother not for us) which is disappointing. Disappointing because of the image that some have of women with short hair they will not get to know that person. For all they know, that woman could’ve become your best girl friend and you just blew it!

Hair, being a big component of appearance, has come to matter greatly. As much as we’d hate to admit it, we do judge a book by its cover. Just like how I can go on against the beloved societal norm of long hair women with said long hair can rant on how only women with short hair are looked at as tough.

So no, hair is not just hair. Just like all other things, hair has the ability to define you.

1 thought on “It’s sometimes not “just hair”….”

Leave a Reply

